The Strokes Unveil New Album Details

The Strokes have revealed their forthcoming album’s title: ‘Angles.’ The album title “reflects the way the album was made,” frontman Julian Casablancas recently told Spin. “It’s all about the different approach and the different ways these song came out.”

The Strokes started off working on their new record with producer Joe Chiccarelli (My Morning Jacket, The Shins, The White Stripes) at Manhattan’s Avatar Studios, but soon felt that the chemistry wasn’t right. They scrapped the project — except for one track, “Life Is Simple” — and headed upstate to guitarist Albert Hammond, Jr.’s studio to re-record the album.

The New York City act also revealed that they collaborated a lot more on ‘Angles’ than on their previous efforts. “It was a completely different way of working,” bassist Nikolai Fraiture told Spin. “We listened to everyone’s ideas with open ears and came to collective decisions. Everyone had an opinion.”

The Strokes’ first single since 2006, “Under Cover of Darkness,” is set to hit radio in February. Fraiture described the track as “most reminiscent of our earlier stuff.”

‘Angles’ is out March 21 in the UK and March 22 in the US.


01. Machu Picchu
02. Under Cover of Darkness
03. Two Kinds of Happiness
04. You’re So Right
05. Taken for a Fool
06. Games
07. Call Me Back
08. Gratisfaction
09. Metabolism
10. Life Is Simple in the Moonlight