The Jesus & Mary Chain Catalog to be Reissued

All six studio albums by godfathers of noise rock The Jesus & Mary Chain will be reissued this fall.

The task is being taken on by the Edsel imprint of UK-based label Demon Music Group, who also released a JAMC best of last year. It appears they will go in chronological order, with 1985’s ‘Psychocandy’ and 1987’s ‘Darklands’ set to come out on September 19, followed by 1989’s ‘Automatic’ and 1992’s ‘Honey’s Dead’ on September 26, and 1994’s ‘Stoned and Dethroned’ and 1998’s ‘Munki’ on October 3.

Each album will be reissued as a 2CD/1DVD set, including B-sides, live sessions, TV appearances, and rare or unreleased material. The first two reissues come with 30 bonus tracks each, including the rejected track “Jesus Fuck,” an unreleased version of “Darklands” with strings, a 1985 acoustic John Peel session, and much more. Both reissues also feature 32-page booklets that “tell the band’s story in their own words” and also include contributions from Primal Scream frontman Bobby Gillespie, who was a drummer for JAMC in their early days.

The other four reissues are similarly packed with treasures from the Scottish band’s vaults. Check out Slicing Up Eyeballs‘ comprehensive write-up for full tracklistings.