Spiritualized Reveal Details of Forthcoming LP

Jason “J. Spaceman” Pierce, the mastermind behind space-rock outfit Spiritualized, has released details about his forthcoming album ‘Sweet Heart Sweet Light.’ Rock Edition previously reported that the record was expected in the fall of 2011, but it was apparently pushed back. ‘Sweet Heart Sweet Light,’ which will be the band’s seventh full-length, is due out in the UK on March 19. A US release date has not been set yet.

In an official statement, Pierce said, “This time around, I wanted to do something that encompassed all I love in rock ‘n’ roll music. It’s got everything from Brötzmann and Berry right through to Dennis and Brian Wilson. I’m obsessed with music and the way you put it together and I don’t believe there are any rules.”

Check out clips of Spiritualized performing two songs from the new album, courtesy of The Guardian: Hey Jane and So Long You Pretty Things. Scroll down to see the track listing from the new album, and European tour dates.

Sweet Heart Sweet Light

01. Hey Jane
02. Little Girl
03. Get What You Want
04. Too Late
05. Heading for the Top
06. Freedom
07. I Am What I Am
08. Mary
09. Life Is a Problem
10. So Long You Pretty Things

Tour Dates:

03/16 – Nottingham (UK) – Rescue Rooms
03/17 – Portsmouth (UK) – Wedgewood Rooms
03/19 – London (UK) – Hackney Empire
03/20 – Oxford (UK) – Academy
03/21 – Bristol (UK) – Academy
03/22 – Glasgow (UK) – ABC
03/23 – Belfast (UK) – Mandela Hall
03/24 – Dublin (IE) – Vicar Street
03/25 – Manchester (UK) – Academy
05/30 – 06/03 – Barcelona (ES) – Primavera Sound
06/07 – 06/10 – Oporto (PT) – Optimus Primavera Sound