Soundgarden to Release Live Album

Grunge giants Soundgarden will release their first-ever live album, entitled ‘Live On I5.’ The album, due out March 22, features recordings from the West Coast leg of their 1996 tour for ‘Down on the Upside.’ The band had broken up not long after the tour, but recently reunited for a secret concert under the name Nudedragons, and subsequently headlined Lollapallooza as Soundgarden. The tracklisting for ‘Live On I5’ is as follows:

01. Spoonman
02. Searching With My Good Eye Closed
03. Let Me Drown
04. Head Down
05. Outshined
06. Rusty Cage
07. Burden in My Hand
08. Helter Skelter (Beatles cover)
09. Boot Camp
10. Nothing to Say
11. Slaves and Bulldozers
12. Dusty
13. Fell on Black Days
14. Search and Destroy (Stooges cover)
15. Ty Cobb
16. Black Hole Sun
17. Jesus Christ Pose

In addition to the live album, guitarist Kim Thayil recently alluded to the possibility that Soundgarden would record new material. In an interview on Canadian radio station CFNY-FM, he said, “When we get together to rehearse, it’s natural for us, being guys who have a rapport, to start jamming and inventing… I’m not confirming anything, but it’s impossible for us to get in a room and not come up with ideas.”

Soundgarden also performed on Conan in November. Their 1991 song “Black Rain” had been unreleased prior to appearing in the Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock video game and on ‘Telephantasm,’ Soundgarden’s recent career retrospective album. “Hunted Down” was their first single, from 1987, and their performance of it was released as a web-only exclusive on Team Coco. Check out both clips below: