Ringo Starr Set to Release New Album

Ringo Starr will release his new album, ‘Ringo 2012,’ on January 31 in the US via Hip-O Records/UMe. This will be the 17th solo album by the former Beatle and is titled in reference to his most successful solo album, 1973’s ‘Ringo.’ The title isn’t the only connection between the two, as ‘Ringo 2012’ will also feature a new recording of “Step Lightly” from ‘Ringo.’

The nine-track album features two covers, one of Buddy Holly’s “Think It Over” and the other “Rock Island Line” as made famous by Lonnie Donegan. Guest appearances include guitarists Joe Walsh and Kenny Wayne Shepherd along with Amy Keys, Michael Bradford, Dave Stewart, Don Was, Steve Dudas, Edgar Winter, Charlie Haden, Richard Page, Kelly Moneymaker, Van Dyke Parks, Benmont Tench, and Bruce Sugar.

Starr produced this album, as he did with his last solo album ‘Y Not.’ It was recorded in Los Angeles and mixed in England. It will be released digitally as well as on CD and vinyl.

Ringo 2012

01. Anthem
02. Wings
03. Think It Over
04. Samba
05. Rock Island Line
06. Step Lightly
07. Wonderful
08. In Liverpool
09. Slow Down