Metallica Release ‘Beyond Magnetic’ EP

Following a string of 30th anniversary shows at The Fillmore in San Francisco, Metallica have released ‘Beyond Magnetic.’ The EP features four songs that were originally released exclusively to Metallica’s fan club.

“During the ‘Death Magnetic’ album sessions in 2007 and 2008, we originally recorded 14 songs. When it came time to pick the songs for the final album, we decided on 10 songs that you’ve all come to know over the last three years,” said the band in a statement. “Some of you may have heard bits and pieces of those other songs on Mission Metallica (remember Mission Metallica?!) or heard rumors about them during the recording process, and wondered, ‘What ever happened to those other four songs?’ We kept them in the vault and decided to pull them just for this special celebration, so here are the four leftover tracks from the ‘Death Magnetic’ sessions. They are rough mixes, unfinished to their original degree of mixing from March ’08. These four songs were released as gift to our closest fans, the members of our fan club, to enjoy. Now they’re being made available to you.”

‘Beyond Magnetic’ is currently available through iTunes and other digital retailers.

Beyond Magnetic

01. Hate Train
02. Just a Bullet Away
03. Hell and Back
04. Rebel of Babylon